King Maximilian II of Bavaria enriched the existing Wittelsbach parks on the Starnberger See with two masterpieces of garden design: Feldafing Park (from 1850) and Rose Island, begun four years later.
On the former fishermen's island of Wörth, the garden designer Peter Joseph Lenné created a fragrant rose paradise which was later to become one of Ludwig II's favourite places. Among the guests he entertained here were Empress Elisabeth of Austria, the Russian Tsarina Maria Alexandrovna and Richard Wagner.
Feldafing Park, which was laid out by the court garden director Carl von Effner opposite Rose Island, is popular for its splendid views of the countryside framed by old oaks and beeches, with the Starnberger See and the Alps in the background. Plans for a summer palace on a hill in the park were abandoned with the early death of Maximilian II in March 1864.
Usually the first blossom begins around mid-June, the second around mid-August, each lasting for about 4 weeks. Depending on the climate the roses may bloom (even weeks) earlier or later.
In June 2011, over 100 selected archaeological sites in several countries were declared cultural heritage under the heading of "Prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps". They provide researchers with unique insights into the ancient world of farming, everyday life, agriculture, animal breeding and technical innovations. The pile dwelling sites in Lake Starnberg, together with other remains of settlements, represent an archaeological heritage which dates back to 5000 BC.
For further information about the pile dwellings in Bavaria, please contact the Bavarian State Office for the Preservation of Monuments (Bayerisches Landesamt für Denkmalpflege).
More information on the UNESCO you will find on http://whc.unesco.org.
In the dining room of the "Casino", during the reign of King Maximilian II., there was a showcase in which the king, who enjoyed collecting, is said to have kept antique finds. This piece of furniture was reconstructed by a sponsoring society.
For security reasons, the original antiques cannot be exhibited on Rose Island, but are in the care of the Archäologische Staatssammlung (State Archaeological Collection). Therefore, 3D colour prints were made of selected objects, which can be viewed in the "Casino".
| top |
Wittelsbacher Park 1
Open all year round
On Saturday, 6 July adults and children are welcome from noon until 6 pm to join our information event on the world heritage site "prehistoric pile dwellings on the bottom of Lake Starnberg by Rose Island".
On 6 July there will be no regular guided tours on the "Casino", and the ferries to Rose Island will not start until 11.45 am.
Rose Island is open to the public; it is not allowed to bring dogs or bicycles to the island.
Ferry service for wheelchair users to Rose Island available (please contact the ferrymen); Feldafing Park and Rose Island are in large parts accessible for wheelchair users.
from Munich to "Feldafing"
Ferry service from Feldafing Park to Rose Island (May to mid-October) in good weather;
for details please call
Außenstelle Starnberger See
Fax 08151 550730-9
seeverwaltung. starnbergersee@ bsv.bayern.de
| top |