The massive four-wing complex in the Renaissance style was built from 1589 to 1603 under Count Palatinate Philipp Ludwig von Pfalz-Neuburg.
The palace chapel is painted with Protestant themes, and is an extremely rare testimony of this period in Bavaria.
An exhibition illustrates the Spanish War of Succession and the Battle of Blenheim / Höchstädt in 1704, which was crucial for its outcome.
In the Museum of German Faience visitors can find out all about the faience that was predominantly in fashion in Germany during the 17th and 18th centuries. The exhibition vividly documents the history and techniques of faience, provides information about types of production and the products of the manufactories and shows the importance of faience, which was then in widespread use, for the table culture and interior decoration of the time.
The entertaining and appealing presentations and the hands-on opportunities for all ages bring you closer to this special world.
Further information and tips for visitors can be found at
The Swabian region's Forum for Swabian History has been presenting a series of temporary exhibitions in restored rooms of the palace.
| top |
Mobil 0172 8255602
April-6 October: 9 am-6 pm
7 October-March: closed
4.50 euros regular
3.50 euros reduced
Chapel and exhibition rooms accessible for wheelchair users
Forum für Schwäbische Geschichte (Forum for Swabian History)
Swabian Folklore Museum Oberschönenfeld
fax 08238 3001-10
Video presentation room
Bus to "Marktplatz"
10 car parking spaces, no bus parking spaces
Fax 08431 6443-44
| top |